The sixth edition of the International Champions Cup is under way this summer as some of the world’s biggest and best clubs collide.

Held in the likes of Asia and the United States, the annual pre-season tournament involving Europe’s top clubs taps into the huge fanbases that exist for those teams outside of their local markets.

It has drawn huge crowds in the past; and not only do the clubs involved pocketing significant appearance fees, but it also enables them to benefit from the longer-term commercial benefits of engaging with supporters across the globe.

Goal brings you all you need to know about the 2018 International Champions Cup.

What is the International Champions Cup?

The International Champions Cup (ICC) is a pre-season tournament that has been held every summer since 2013.

For the past three years, the ICC has been split into three different regions: the United States, China and Australia in 2016 and the United States, China and Singapore in 2017.

In the two years prior to that, it was held exclusively in the USA. This year, China has been replaced by a number of European venues in Sweden, Poland, Austria, Italy, Switzerland and Spain.

Europe and Singapore will host 10 games in total, while the USA section has 17 games on the schedule – a total of 27 games.

According to organisers, in a departure from previous years, each team will play three matches and only one champion will emerge. In previous years teams did not always play the same number of games and a separate champion was crowned in each host country.

It began on July 20 and ends on August 11, getting everyone back before the start of their competitive campaigns.

Which teams are in the International Champions Cup?

United States Europe Singapore
AC Milan Arsenal Arsenal
Barcelona Atletico Madrid Atletico Madrid
Bayern Munich Bayern Munich Chelsea
Benfica Benfica PSG
Borussia Dortmund Chelsea  
Juventus Inter  
Liverpool PSG  
Manchester City    
Manchester United    
Real Madrid    

Eighteen of Europe’s top clubs will take part in the 2018 edition of the ICC, which will be held at various venues across the United States, Europe and Singapore.

The likes of Real Madrid, Barcelona, Juventus and Manchester giants United and City continue their involvement from previous years, while Benfica, Atletico Madrid and Liverpool join, having not played a part in the 2017 edition.

Unlike 2017, no games will be played in China, with Singapore providing hosting duties in Asia, but a number of fixtures will take place across Europe, with the likes of Arsenal, Bayern Munich and Paris Saint-Germain among those scheduled to play.

International Champions Cup 2018 fixtures

Paul Pogba Manchester United

The 2018 edition of the ICC kicked off on July 20 – just a few days after the World Cup came to an end – and will conclude on August 11

The US leg of the competition runs from July 20, when Man City and Borussia Dortmund got things started, until August 7, when Real Madrid and Roma play.

Bayern Munich and PSG kicked off the European games on July 21, with Atletico and Inter concluding matters on August 11.

The Singapore section of the ICC is the shortest and features the least number of games, with the first match – between Arsenal and PSG – kicking off on July 26, while PSG and Atletico close the section out four days later on July 30.

Due to the time difference, many of the games played will kick-off late at night in Britain or even in the early hours of the following morning.

Both local and UK times are listed below.

United States:

Date Match Time (local / BST) Venue
Jul 20 Manchester City 0-1 Borussia Dortmund 8:05pm / 2:05am Soldier Field, Chicago
Jul 22 Liverpool 1-3 Borussia Dortmund 4:05pm / 9:05pm Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte
Jul 25 Juventus 2-0 Bayern Munich 7:05pm / 12:05am Lincoln Financial Field, Philadelphia
Jul 25 Manchester City 1-2 Liverpool 8:05pm / 1:05am MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford
Jul 25 Borussia Dortmund 2-2 (3-4 pens.) Benfica 8:05pm / 1:05am Heinz Field, Pittsburgh
Jul 25 Roma 1-4 Tottenham 7:05pm / 3:05am SDCCU Stadium, San Diego
Jul 25 AC Milan 1-1 (8-9 pens.) Manchester United 8:05pm / 4:05am Rose Bowl, Pasadena
Jul 28 Benfica 1-1 (2-4 pens.) Juventus 1:05pm / 6:05pm Red Bull Arena, Harrison
Jul 28 Manchester United vs Liverpool 5:05pm / 10:05pm Michigan Stadium, Ann Arbor
Jul 28 Bayern Munich vs Manchester City 7:05pm / 12:05am Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens
Jul 28 Barcelona vs Tottenham 8:05pm / 4:05am Rose Bowl, Pasadena
Jul 31 Manchester United vs Real Madrid 8:05pm / 1:05am Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens
Jul 31 Tottenham vs AC Milan 7:35pm / 1:35am US Bank Stadium, Minneapolis
Jul 31 Barcelona vs Roma 9:05pm / 3:05am AT&T Stadium, Arlington
Aug 4 Real Madrid vs Juventus 6:05pm / 11:05pm FedEx Field, Landover
Aug 4 AC Milan vs Barcelona 5:05pm / 1:05am Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara
Aug 7 Real Madrid vs Roma 8:05pm / 1:05am MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford


Date Match Time (local / BST) Venue
Jul 21 Bayern Munich 3-1 PSG 4:05pm / 3:05pm Worthersee Stadion, Klagenfurt
Jul 28 Chelsea 1-1 (5-4 pens.) Inter 8:05pm / 7:05pm Allianz Riviera, Nice
Aug 1 Arsenal vs Chelsea 8:05pm / 8:05pm Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Aug 1 Benfica vs Lyon 9:05pm / 9:05pm Estadio Algarve, Algarve
Aug 4 Inter vs Lyon 8:05pm / 7:05pm Stadio Via del Mare, Lecce
Aug 7 Chelsea vs Lyon 8:05pm / 8:05pm Stamford Bridge, London
Aug 11 Atletico Madrid vs Inter 8:05pm / 7:05pm Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid


Date Match Time (local / BST) Venue
Jul 26 Atletico Madrid 1-1 (3-1 pens.) Arsenal 7:35pm / 12:35pm Singapore National Stadium
Jul 28 Arsenal 5-1 PSG 7:35pm / 12:35pm Singapore National Stadium
Jul 30 PSG vs Atletico Madrid 7:35pm / 12:35pm Singapore National Stadium

International Champions Cup 2018 venues

Michigan Stadium (Ann Arbor, Michigan)

Michigan Stadium Michigan

AT&T Stadium (Arlington, Texas):

AT&T Stadium Texas

Bank of America Stadium (Charlotte, North Carolina):

Bank of America Stadium North Carolina

Soldier Field (Chicago, Ilinois):

Soldier Field Chicago

MetLife Stadium (East Rutherford, New Jersey):

MetLife Stadium New York 07012012

Red Bull Arena (Harrison, New Jersey):

Red Bull Arena: Harris, New Jersey

FedEx Field (Landover, Maryland):

FedEx Field

Hard Rock Stadium (Miami Gardens, Florida):

Hard Rock Stadium

US Bank Stadium (Minneapolis, Minnesota):

US Bank Stadium Minneapolis

Rose Bowl (Pasadena, California):

Rose Bowl Pasadena

Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania):

Lincoln Financial Field Philadelphia general view

Heinz Field (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania):

Heinz Field Pittsburg general view

SDCCU Stadium (San Diego, California):

SDCCU Stadium San Diego

Levi’s Stadium (Santa Clara, California)

Levi's Stadium Copa America

Aviva Stadium (Dublin, Ireland):

Aviva Stadium Dublin Ireland general view

Allianz Riviera (Nice, France):

Allianz Riviera Stadium Nice general view

Worthersee Stadion (Klagenfurt, Austria):

Worthersee Stadion Klagenfurt

Stadio Via del Mare (Lecce, Italy):

Stadio Via del Mare Lecce

Wanda Metropolitano (Madrid, Spain):

Wanda Metropolitano Madrid

Stamford Bridge (London, England):

Stamford Bridge Chelsea general view

National Stadium (Singapore):

National Stadium Singapore

Article continues below

Who won the International Champions Cup last year?

Previously, each section yielded a separate winner, but in 2017 there were only two ‘champions’ because the teams in the Chinese section did not all play the same number of games.

Barcelona won their first ever ICC title by topping the US section with three wins from three. The Blaugrana defeated Juventus, Manchester United and Real Madrid on their way to glory.

Inter, meanwhile, topped the Singapore section to scoop a first ICC title, beating Bayern Munich and Chelsea.